Review of State Laws Regulating Naturopathy

In the U.S., Naturopathy is regulated at the state level, and laws vary widely from one state to another.  They can generally be grouped into three categories:

  1. States that require state licenses to practice;
  2. States that offer (but do not require) licenses, and;
  3. States that neither offer nor require licenses.

The states listed below have relatively strict laws that require state-issued licenses to practice.

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Connecticut
  • Hawaii
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • North Dakota
  • Oregon
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington

California’s law requires state licenses for only those practitioners who use the titles of “Naturopathic Doctor,” “Naturopathic Physician,” or their abbreviations, “ND” or “NP.”